The Bondage of Expectations

Posted: February 15, 2013 in Great Images + My 2 Cents
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

This definitely doesn’t mean ACT without disregard to possible dangers and repercussions. I believe it’s telling us to ACT in such a way that we are not looking for something in return or expecting a predetermined result from our actions. We set ourselves up for disappointment if we do otherwise.

Take our relationships and interactions with people for an example. In some instances if you really examine where some of our problems start we’ll see it starts with us and our unspoken EXPECTATIONS. For instance, let’s say you do something for someone, whatever it may be, and they don’t react or reciprocate in the way you expected, you now feel hurt, disappointed, shorted or angry. This is all happening while the recipient has no idea of your preconceived EXPECTATIONS for them.

However, if we choose to ACT WITHOUT EXPECTATION in respects to our kinds acts for one another and truly do it unselfishly, we will never be disappointed because we did it without expecting any certain result from it. Whatever happens, happens. I’m going to try to make a concerted effort live my life free from the bondage of expectations. Come what may, whether it be something or nothing. The definition of surprise just so happens to be a completely unexpected occurrence. I guess we’ll be living a life full of surprises then 🙂

thumbnail2

Comments
  1. It is so hard to put actions and Expectations into compartments. Really if you think about it, all our actions are based off of self interest. That means that whatever we do, already has a predetermined outcome to it.

    I think it’s very hard to beat your own nature, and then beat other people attitude towards you – which is, most of the times on the lines of convincing you that you deserve to expect from them. I think that is how humans grow close to each other – by giving each other the impression that they have something to offer to the other person. Trust me, I don’t think expectations come just out of nowhere.

    • Rahburt says:

      Yes, that is quite true, we do act in our own favor 9 times out of 10. I’m sure even mother Teresa got some sort of gratification from her benevolence.

      And I believe most of my expectations are rooted in what I would or how I would react given the same circumstances or treatment that I dish out.

      I agree, It is a tall order to separate our actions and expectations. But what a serene state it would be if we could.

  2. Scribelife says:

    I couldn’t agree more, terrific message, and it’s a pleasure to meet you.,

  3. thenerdyscribe says:

    I found this post very interesting! 🙂 acts of kindness are usually very rewarding if you do them without expecting anything in return.

  4. you're just a dumbass says:

    Thanks for this insightful article, Rahburt! I agree with you wholeheartedly! Acting without expectation can reduce the amount of resentment one experiences in any relationship. Whether it’s your partner, boss, colleague, friend, or parent. The more we approach egolessness, we are able to live a more actualized version of ourselves.

  5. Rahburt says:

    Glad you liked :). I like how you put in terms of egolessness. I do however believe we all have a certain amount of responsibility to meet universal expectations like being honest and respectful to one another. But that is s difficult and left to debate because we all have different standards of right and wrong. There’s just no easy way to it when 2 or more are involved 😉

Would Love To Hear What You Think