Marshall Davis Jones – “Touchscreen” Spoken Poetry

Posted: September 17, 2013 in Videos-Funny, Music, Misc
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m guilty

I try to step back and remember the days when our communication was predominantly done by phone (talking) or face to face. Compared to texting, liking, tweeting and browsing. But I haven’t quite determined if how we communicate today is all that bad. Because of these mediums I have come to chat and know a number of you, and without the internet it would not be possible. I’m thinking that it’s all about balance. Although, I do believe it would be healthier if your face to face communication outweighed your internet communication.

There is almost no other way I could get updates on dozens of my friends in a matter of minutes like I can on Facebook. It’s like a daily newspaper that includes stories, obituaries, photos, events and comics all created by my friends and family. Or take the blog feed here where I get to be a part of each one of your shares.

Since, my injury and having my driving privileges taken away I have had to lean on the internet to feed my desire of communication more times than not. I know it’s not the best thing, but sometimes it’s the only thing.

So, yes I’m Guilty of clicking, liking, and internet relationships, but is it really all that bad? Are we creating a touch-less emotionally sparse means of communication? Or are we reaching people and their minds and hearts that otherwise would not be possible? I know I’m enriched by a lot of what you all post, share and write.

Comments
  1. Wait… what injury are you talking about?

    I believe technology helps in a way – for those hermits like myself, I enjoy the communication through emails, texts, WordPress, etc. It helps to spread ideas, inspiration. In terms of relationships, I wouldn’t have met my last two boyfriends without them so I guess I am biased. In terms of friendships, I would say the same.

    p.s. the next time you find yourself in California, let’s grab a cup of coffee and chat πŸ™‚

    • Rahburt says:

      Check out my “about me” page πŸ™‚

      I’m right there with you concerning the relationships realm. Not having a driver’s license has proven to complicate my ability to meet new people and/or girls. I’m quite the socialite, so it’s super frustrating not being able to get out there like I want. SO that’s where Mr. or Miss Internet comes to fill the void πŸ™‚

      p.s. l’m a fan out that idea. I should be there around Summer >_<. not sure what that face is but I've seen you use it, ha.

  2. LilMissSyn says:

    I think it’s all about balance, I have a healthy amount of both “types of friends” and I love them all the same, regardless if we will never meet face to face I adore and cherish them just as much and my “in person” relationships.
    I’m grateful for the internet, but i do believe it’s easy to “get lost” in it.. so balance is important. It still amazes me that I can pay a bill at a stop light on my way home! LOL.. it’s crazy when you think about it!

    • Rahburt says:

      I’m a Libra, so I agree about the balance :). And yes, I feel the same about loving my online and offline friends close to equally. I generally have REAL conversations with people like yourself on here versus my unplugged friends. They sometimes can’t understand and make sly little jokes about my internet world, ha…whatever.
      Ha, exactly. The internet is amazing when used properly. It provides us with countless tools for learning, sharing and productivity, and unproductive too, ha. Although my internet time seems to be winning at the moment I’m sure that will change, as does life πŸ˜‰

  3. Jae says:

    I think you touched on the point that makes all the difference: balance. There’s no way I could get to know as many bloggers and writers as I have done online in real life. And I’ve gained so much insight and advice from my online community. However, as you said, it’s no excuse to abandon my IRL community. Just as you were saying, balance.

    • Rahburt says:

      πŸ™‚ Glad you agree. I try to be balanced in just about every aspect of my life other than kindness, that one I put no limits ;). But yes, I can see how the internet can be super useful for a writer like yourself. It allows us to network with 100s to 1000s if we so choose. I’m actually using it to make a living myself and trying to avoid the 9-5. I need my time for my physical recovery. I had to google IRL, ha. Good luck with your writing! πŸ™‚

  4. Chatty Owl says:

    Very often I have mixed feelings about this. Sometimes I think this is brilliant that we have all these opportunities to connect with people, explore so many great gems of the land of internet, but then sometimes I feel like the personal touch is definitely getting lost in this virtual medium. So in my life i try to maintain the balance. I click away, but from time to time I write a hand written letter with a wax seal on the envelope…
    Lets be guilty together haha!

    • Rahburt says:

      I’m right there with you. At certain points I find myself satisfied with internet relationships almost to the point where it out weighs my real life connections. And then I ask myself what if the internet was unavailable, what would I do then and what would I have? I think sometimes there is a super deep connection with someone that is totally based off communication and not watered down with physicality. I believe communication is a much stronger foundation for a lasting relationship. Haha, I like it…let’s be guilty! πŸ™‚

  5. shianwrites says:

    Awesome post! There are pros and cons. We just need to know when to step back and connect (touch) with the people we love and care for.

    • Rahburt says:

      Thank you, that’s always nice to hear :). And yes I hear you, although sometimes there are times when I’d like to step out and connect with people like you in the physical world. We need to have a convention or something, ha.

  6. Sam Han says:

    I’m seeing posts from 24 days ago. I am missing a lot of your posts! 😦

  7. BeWithUs says:

    Well, there is no right or wrong…it is just an issue of self-control…so, don’t feel guilty…(⇀‸↼•) unless you’ve finally received a phone call from the crew of ‘My Obsession’ requesting for an interview…(⇀‸↼•)

    Have a great day clicking, liking and maintaining your internet relationships…Cheers!! πŸ˜€

    • Rahburt says:

      Yes, agreed…self control. Haha, no phone call yet, but if I do you’ll be the first to know. And thank you I’m doing it right now aren’t I. Ha. Cheers!!

      • BeWithUs says:

        ヽ(Β΄β–½`)/ Yep! Yep! Yep! ヽ(Β΄β–½`)/

        Weekend is coming, my friend!

        May you have a great and enjoyable one ahead, always~ *click*click*& Cheers!!! πŸ˜€

      • Rahburt says:

        haha, love your fancy creations.

        yup the weekend came and it treated me well. hope it did the same for you! CHEERS πŸ˜€

  8. That’s a great bit of poetry! I think he almost got out of breath there trying to make that point! How do these poets speak that fast? I’d be talking complete garbled garbage if I spoke that fast! πŸ˜€ But I like the point he was making, and I think although a lot of it can be argued in different ways, there is danger for some maybe of forgetting they are human. But it hasn’t happened to me yet, the last time I checked myself over I was still flesh and blood! πŸ˜‰

    I feel this is a difficult one to really prove if all this internet communication is harmful or not. It may take another 5 or 10 years to be able to see that, it’s still a relatively new way for people to communicate. I would never have thought I would be interested in communicating with other people through it, but within a few months of connecting to the internet last year, I found a writers site I liked, started posting poetry, and found myself chatting with a lovely bunch of total strangers! πŸ˜€ So that was my training ground before I had a blog, and I’m still on there now, mainly because I get on so well with the other writers, it’s difficult to leave now! 😦 Some of them have hysterical user names and pictures that are not of themselves, but despite that over time I’ve really got to like those quirky characters! And now that I’ve put up a real picture of myself on there, others have started to do the same, and finally we are becoming real people now!

    And it’s the same with the blog too, over time the people behind those gravatars have become a lot more real as conversations have turned from simple ‘thank you’s’ and ‘I love your post or your photography’ to much more in-depth conversations. A woman I follow on a blog who posts humorous stories about her new life in Portugal and tales about her two dogs, put up a post the other day to tell everyone that one of her dogs had just died because it had been poisoned! And another woman a few weeks before told how her mother who had recently moved in with her because of illness, had suddenly died, leaving her in total shock. It’s very hard not to feel a little upset for these people just as I would if they were my neighbour or my friend. So I suppose I’m becoming quite a different person these days, relating to people largely through words, and sometimes pictures and video. They are as real to me as my best friend I’ve known for over twenty years!

    I can’t help but compare all this communication to being very similar to the old fashioned pen pal, I know it sounds funny to say that, but we are all writing to each other! There were many people during the second world war that had pen pals, some they never met, but continued to write for life and others met up after the war was over – and they had a friend that they had shared all their suffering, sadness and fears to. So maybe this communication is not so new, but just different and more people are getting hooked than ever before. I don’t think you should feel guilty Robert – just enjoy it, regardless of what anyone else thinks, it’s your life and your mind and you have to live in the way that suits you – that’s what I do!! πŸ˜€

    • Rahburt says:

      awesome huh!?! i think some people just have a talent for such things and probably don’t even think it’s difficult to deliver. i mean there are rapppers out there that do the same thing, if not faster.

      yeah i don’t believe it’s harmful, but if all your social eggs are in the internet basket just imagine if there was no internet and your friends disappeared along with it :-/. well i’m glad you joined that writer’s site because now you’re here, literally :). but yes i hear you i do enjoy the relationships and chit chats with my online friends like yourself. you and they are all now a part of my life and have effected me in one way or another. look at you spurring them to make a change by posting an actual picture of yourself!

      i totally get what you are saying. i think there’s a lot to be said for a relationship based on such sharing as that. on the opposite hand i have been lied to multiple times by women on the internet and a lot of the time nothing they said was true, even about their identity. i guess people can lie lie just as well in real life too though.

      that doesn’t sound funny at all, it’s true! there is something to be said for being able to confide in someone whether it be through spoken or written words. i think this is a good place for people to start that may have a lot of anxiety and nervous to make one on one contact, it’s like training wheels :). ha, i don’t feel guilty, i was just simply stating that i was guilty of doing such things. no shame there :). and like one of my other posts, there is no normal right. if it makes you happy then get to it πŸ™‚

      • Yeah – that would be a bit alarming if all your friends disappeared within the loss of the internet! 😐

        That’s really depressing, that so many feel they have to invent a fictitious character instead of just being themselves! 😦 That must make you a little cautious now, wondering who’s going to turn out to be the next liar. I’m lucky at the moment, I’ve not come across this yet, but I’m new to the internet, so ask me next year, I might have something completely different to say about it! Someone I used to know, went on a lot of dating websites a few years ago, she kept finding one fictitious man after another, most of them were already married. It seemed it was the perfect place to have an affair – not find a partner!

        Oh yes, they certainly do lie in real life too, and I always seem to find them! 😦 There was a boyfriend I had at age 19, he told me he was 27, worked for a bank, and lived in the next town to where I lived. After 2 months of dating he mysteriously disappeared, at first I thought he’d died, but of course I realised – he’d moved on. Five years later I saw a picture of him in a magazine, he was actually a fairly well known concert pianist, not originally from the UK and was 10 years older than he had said, and a slightly different name! 😯 I know it sounds hard to believe, but there’s plenty of evidence for me to see on the internet these days, and You Tube videos of him in concerts and interviews, and even my brother agrees with me – it’s definitely him!! A very charming man though! πŸ˜‰

      • robertmudge says:

        no cell phones and no internet, what would we do πŸ˜›

        there’s an MTV show here in the states called Catfish and it documents all sorts of these stories. you can probably youtube “catfish the show” to see. maybe you have come across them, but don’t even know, ha. well i only know women did since that was what i was looking for ;).

        oh wow, so you too have experienced this horribleness. perhaps it was actually never that guy and he was only using that famous guy’s pictures :/. or did you actually meet and see him firsthand? a charming scoundrel! ha

      • Oh yes, I met him in reality – a real man!! πŸ˜‰ This was a long time ago, long before the internet. I met him at a drama group I’d been part of from the age of 15. Most of the people there were married, single people certainly didn’t join that group to meet someone, but four years later he arrived! πŸ™‚ Someone was moaning to me a few years later about the woman and her husband who introduced him to that drama group, about all the celebrities they knew, and how much name dropping they did! 😐 The area I lived in at the time did have a lot of famous people living near by (not that I ever knew any of them!) But I’ve did a lot of research on that ‘Piano Man’ mainly through the internet, and came up with some definite matches of information other than his name of course, that matched some things I knew about the man I’d met, so it was definitely him. I have to say, in his defence, he treated me well – didn’t lead the 19 year old me astray! πŸ˜‰ But charming scoundrel is probably a good description for him – I mean, I love piano music, and I feel a bit cheated he didn’t tell me he could play the piano so well! πŸ˜†

      • robertmudge says:

        ah i see good! glad you did actually meet him. ha, i love your funny little line about being more upset at the fact that he didn’t share his musical talent with you πŸ˜›

  9. I actually went for days camping in various forests this summer. My cell phone was turned off-no reception anywho-, had no internet service, just my Kindle to entertain me. While driving, the only music that I heard was in my head. I loved life that way. But, now I am back city living and I have not picked up my kindle. Instead I am on the internet every day reading blogs. This computer demands that I visit the keyboard every day to read and write or it promises to put me back in a strangle hold so I will oblige the demands of this thing. This black flat thing that sits on top of my desk and rules my every moment of every day!! That is okay by me.

    • robertmudge says:

      ha, that last is tragic and funny. well this flat black thing may think it’s running my life, but i am in fact using it in hopes that i can do as you did for a short period, and be free of it after it helps me generate the income to do so:)

  10. ashadeofpen says:

    i am blessed that I met you.. thanks to the internet.. so we win some we lose some.. technology goes either way πŸ˜‰

  11. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Would Love To Hear What You Think

