Humans That Look Like Paintings

Posted: November 12, 2013 in Artistic
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My previous art oriented posts were mainly centered around artists and their ability to make their art look realistic, also known as photo-realism. Alexa Meade,  however does the contrary. She seeks to make three-dimensional subjects look like two-dimensional oil paintings when viewed in a photograph.

In August 2008, the artist began to apply acrylic paint to the surfaces of people, objects, and walls in a broad brushstroke that mimics the appearance of brushwork in a painting. After 9 months of practice, she was able to unveil her “Reverse Trompe L’Oeil” collection in October, 2009. Her aim is to make her living models into flat pictures. The result is walking, talking optical illusions that confuse how the eye processes these objects in space.

The artist never attended art school nor has she ever taken advanced painting courses.

The following are some of her works, are you deceived? Alexa Meade paints on the surfaces of live human subjects, found objects, and architectural spaces in a way that optically compresses 3D space into a 2D plane when photographed.

Alexa Meade art

 

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    How clever is that!
    People never cease to amaze me with their original ideas and creativity.

  2. I have to admit I’ve seen this artist before, I think it was on another blog, although I’ve looked at so many websites in the last few months, I don’t always find it easy to remember where I last saw something! She is fascinating, and appears to have turned on it’s head what a lot of artists normally strive to do (making what isn’t real, look real!) I’m amazed no-one has thought of it before. How can that many years of art go by and no-one has done painting in this way? I suppose the need for photography to exist to really compliment this kind of art would be one reason, but photography has been around for l-o-n-g time now! I wonder what it looks like in real life? Whether it has the same trick effect on the brain when one of those painted models walks in front of you – it must be very strange! 😯

    And I’m trying to guess what it must feel like to be painted in paint, maybe quite relaxing? But I don’t think I’d be too thrilled with my ears being painted (I’ve got sensitive ears!) I think I’d get up and run at the point!! 😀

    • robertmudge says:

      what!?! how dare you admit such a thing ;). ha, you get around aye. right you are. she has taken a great approach and turned convention on it’s head. and if you think about we do it everyday, we continue to do what we think is normal and do not turn convention on it’s head :/. i think it would still look nifty in person like you can see in a few of the photos where people are there in person, but you’re right it’s home is when viewed through a camera lens. relaxing and kind of hot if you know what i mean ;). haha, you little baby 😛

      • Sorry, but at least I admitted I’d seen it! 🙂 I think it was on another blog I’m following. My memory is sometimes very accurate and other days – terrible, when everything I’ve seen gets a bit of a mash up! Oh no – we don’t want to join that normal club! 😐

        Hot? I think I know where you’re going with that – but, the paint might be a little cold!! 😉 I’m a baby about a lot of things – especially my ears! 😀

      • robertmudge says:

        Ha, very true. I’m definitely a fan of honesty :). That’s OK, I think that makes you human. No we do not. Let’s break the mold! Ha, yes the temperature may be cold and therefore effect the enjoyment of it. Well best of luck on protecting your ears 🙂

  3. Chatty Owl says:

    Wow. Things you find… People are so talented and creative all over the world, it makes me amazed every time I come across something like this. This just proves that us as humans have endless possibilities for everything.

  4. I saw this somewhere before. She’s amazing.. The look at the expression on the man in the black jacket face. lol

  5. Sam Han says:

    wow! they looked surreally real, lol…

  6. C says:

    Gorgeous.
    (Thank you for your visit to my blog)

  7. B* says:

    Amazing stuff!
    Beautiful art and share♥

    Thank you for sharing your light and do stay precious too, my friend 🙂

  8. B* says:

    Thank you for your kind words and love, Robert!
    You are an awesome soul of light, too♥

    Thank you for being there and for sharing your light.
    Do take care and stay precious, too. 🙂

Would Love To Hear What You Think

