appreciated

 

Finally after years of unappreciative takers I have found someone that epitomizes this quote. For a time there I thought my expectations were too high or unattainable because I always felt short ended. I was merely searching for someone who would reciprocate what I was dishing out. That’s not too much to ask right?? Like the whole golden rule deal, treat others as you would like to be treated. As I trudged my way through relationships full of compromise, arguments and tension I thought to myself this can’t be the way it has to be. Then I would would try to rationalize these sorry excuses for relationships to myself by saying, “no one is perfect, these sorts of things come with relationships”. This is not true people! There are over 7 billion humans on this planet, there must be at least one out there that you can seamlessly interact and communicate with all while respecting and appreciating each other in the utmost.

So don’t sell yourself short. Don’t enter a relationship where you have lowered your own bar of expectations. Don’t settle for less than what you deserve.

Comments
  1. There is MUCH to appreciate in you 😉 You’re a catch.

  2. atrandom37 says:

    These experiences teach us about ourselves – what we can and won’t tolerate. You’re right, we don’t have to put up with anyone’s nonsense. If it seems like work, then it’s not worth the effort. Love is beautiful. It’s people and their insecurities that complicate it. Thanks for posting this – it really resonated with me.

    • robertmudge says:

      Awesome response. Totally agree with you. I’m glad I didn’t give up on the beautiful love like you stated. And you’re right about the insecurities. Some people would rather be in a poor relationship versus just being alone.

    • robertmudge says:

      Forgot about this post that you may like also: http://yellingquietly.net/be-comfortable-with-you/

    • SoundEagle says:

      Thank you, atrandom37. SoundEalge agrees with atrandom37, and would like to add to the discussion here as follows:

      There are three phases in the adult life. The first is the “Experimental Phase”, valid for a person usually aged between 17 and 35+, where the person tends to travel and sample the world to see what’s out there and where/how they fit in.

      The second is the “Consolidation Phase”, valid for a person usually aged between 25+ and 60+, where the person tends to be career-minded and seeks a partner to consolidate their wealth and to raise a family.

      The third is the “Soulmate Phase”, valid for a person usually aged 55+ or 65+ (depending on the age of retirement), where the person tends to be well-off financially and no longer needs to be concerned with career and/or raising a family. Aided by accumulated wisdom and wealth, the person is free to stay with the existing partner/spouse, or to seek one or more soulmate(s) in environments or circumstances that are (far) less encumbered by peer pressure, social expectation, career and/or family duties. A soulmate can also be the one who precipitates and/or participates in your spiritual awakening.

      What do you think of SoundEagle’s explanation, Robert?

      • robertmudge says:

        I enjoyed and agreed with your phases and opinions. I think they are solid descriptions and have a lot insightful truth in them. I guess it all depends on which phase we meet someone in. Perhaps we could meet someone in the experimental phase and continue with them all the way through the soulmate phase. All in all I believe your timeline is quite accurate. I’m a combination of all 3 🙂

      • SoundEagle says:

        It seems that you have managed to dip your fingers in all three pies and eat them too. 🙂

        Your reply is thoughtful and appreciative. Thank you, Robert. Given your insight and your particular journey through life, SoundEagle would like to invite you to reflect further after reading and sharing your thoughts at the commenting section of the post at http://soundeagle.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/soundeagle-in-best-moment-award-from-moment-matters/.

  3. LizabethJoy says:

    wow I have been thinking about just settling for just anyone today.. just settle. Not. I have already been down that long road… Thank you . It was no accident that I read your recent post this evening..

  4. Oh, you have – well that’s good news! 😀
    I think taking someone for granted is something that a lot of people lean towards especially when they’ve known each other a while. But that isn’t the way it should be of course! I do feel though that there aren’t any perfect people, and that relationships of any kind can be difficult at times, even just for a small moment. For example, I get on with my brother extremely well, we are the best of friends, always have been – but there are times when I’ve been annoyed with him and him with me, especially under some extreme stressful times we’ve had in recent years, but those moments have never made us seriously fall out, because we mean too much to each other to fall out over something we don’t agree on. And our parents used to argue quite a bit when we were kids, horrible, and frightening for a child too. They would have been happier if they had lived in separate homes, and just met up on their good days! 🙂 But the strange thing is I never doubted that they loved each other, and when my mother died, it became very obvious how much my Dad loved her, but they couldn’t seem to live in the same house in a totally agreeable marriage. It’s certainly not the kind of relationship I’d want to live in, but it happens – a lot. But I agree – if you find that unbearable, then you shouldn’t accept it, and often it is a very clear sign that it’s not right. I got out of a relationship for those same reasons, I felt controlled, something I just couldn’t live with any more.

    Well – I hope you’ve told that someone! 🙂

    • robertmudge says:

      it is great news 😀
      yeah, i agree with that. and also once we know we have someone we tend to stop doing the things we did to get them :. And i totally get what you’re saying about having some sort of troubles at some point. heck i can remember having a bestest of friends around, but after being around each other day after day things could get dicey, ha. you and your brother’s relationship sounds great. i agree, i hate to hear my parents arguing. i think a lot of people may be miserable but they are too scared and/or thoughtful to just let things go even if it is for the best. bravo to you for getting out of such a situation.

      ha, yup i hesitantly let her read this.

  5. floridaborne says:

    Reminds me of the guy whose ex wife told him he’d never find anyone who would put up with him but her. She was nasty, abusive and weighed about 300 pounds. He left and took 2 of his kids with him. A year later, he introduced her to his new wife who was 13 years younger and not bad to look at. She was so surprised the cigarette was hanging by the spit on her lip. BTW, I was the young woman and he was a great husband who died too young.

    • robertmudge says:

      wow amazing! and i loved the way you shared and presented that story. sorry to hear that you lost him so early. hooray to you for showing someone the love that they were looking for.

  6. Himani B says:

    what a lovely post and a beautiful reminder, thank you for this 🙂

  7. Chatty Owl says:

    Never sell yourself short – that’s the best advice one can give to himself. I’m happy to read that you found the soul-mate, the person that shares that connection with you! Brilliant news. I hope it lasts forever for you.

  8. Caitlin says:

    aw.. congrats! i love this.. especially since i just met someone who makes me feel the same way 🙂

  9. Layce says:

    Thats so sweet…. the second one looks a lil “specials” lol

Would Love To Hear What You Think

