Leg Art by Jody Steel

Posted: September 25, 2013 in Artistic
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Like most of us did when we were bored in class, Jody Steel chose to doodle. However, instead of using her notebook she decided to use her leg as the canvas and create some mouth dropping leg art.

Despite having no kind of formal training as an illustrator, Jodi’s dermal masterpieces look like the work of a seasoned artist and are sometimes mistaken as tattoos. And where you and I may have gotten scolded or punished for doodling in class, Jody was actually offered a job when one of the professors caught a glimpse of her leg art. A professor at Emerson College, in Boston, asked her to draw the illustrations for a ‘steam punk’ book called Steaming into a Victorian Future: A Steampunk Anthology.

Her pieces mainly utilize pens and black ink. Steel says she didn’t expect the fame she’s starting to receive on the Internet, “I really started because honestly, I didn’t have any paper around,” she told HuffPost Weird News. “I was drawing a lot in class, and people began to notice … I’m just really pale and my skin is most equivalent to paper.”

Comments
  1. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Wow! These are fantastic, Robert.
    Thanks for sharing.
    I suppose she always needs to have a camera or iPhone on hand to photograph her work before she washes it off.

    • Rahburt says:

      glad you agree to their greatness :). thanks for visiting to know i shared it. yeah, don’t we all have our phones us at all times now a days, ha.

  2. renxkyoko says:

    OMG, that’s amazing! ! ! Such talent !

    • Rahburt says:

      crazy right. and she didn’t even think anything of it! welcome back. made periodic stops by your blog to see if anything new was up 🙂

  3. Tutti says:

    Hi Robert, thanks for sharing! Awesome pictures and a wonderful story!

  4. Sam Han says:

    It’s cool when teachers/professors recognise talent and help the potentials! Great post Robert 😀

  5. That’s absolutely fabulous. If Jody can draw like that on her leg, imagine if she had a bigger canvas. Beautiful work.

  6. This is kind of very sexy art Robert! Can only be seen if wearing a short skirt – or lifting it! Certainly a unique way to advertise her art, I’ll have to try that with my writing some time!! 😉 Not sure that would be seen as very sane though, certainly wouldn’t attract a publisher!! 😀
    This would be excellent art even if it was on paper, but to create it on her own legs shows a lot of talent, can’t be easy drawing on the skin! But I suppose it does away with the need for an easel, I always found easels are so easy to catch your feet on the legs when you least expect it, and trip the whole thing up – always when the art is nearly finished! 😀 You certainly like these interesting artists, where do you manage to find them all?

    I though for moment you’d had a birthday celebration Robert, but one of your instagram pictures says ‘wedding watching’ been to a wedding? And very nice to see your sister too! 😀

    • robertmudge says:

      haha, i guess you are kind of right huh. i bet the boys in class were ok with her artistic endeavors. ha, i think you may be on to something with marketing your writing too. you never know, Miley Cyrus is by no means acting very sane, but she is getting tons of publicity and exposure. whether it be good or bad she is still getting attention. i agree, very difficult and also shows her ability of what is possible if put down on another more permanent medium. ha, so you have tripped over some easels in your day aye. you sound quite coordinated :P. right you are. i especially appreciate things i can’t do myself. i usually use a site called Stumbleupon 🙂

      birthday is soon ;). but yeah it was one of my friends’ wedding. my sister actually gets married on the 1st of november.

      • Oh yes, who isn’t talking about Miley Cyrus! I’m not sure what all the outrage is about really, I thought most pop stars did outrageous things to get attention – seems to go with the job! I wouldn’t carry that off so well – I’d laugh too much!! 😀
        Oh yes, clumsy me, I’m an expert at uncoordination, it’s not only easels that trip me up! 😉

        Well, happy birthday ‘soon to be birthday boy’!! 😀

        Your sister gets married in November! Wow, a big occasion to look forward to, and I really hope it’s an amazing day for you all! 😀 I thought for moment (I hope the weather will be good) but your weather is always good where you are – what was I thinking!? (British weather brain!) 🙄

      • robertmudge says:

        i guess it’s because she’s made such a drastic change from who people that she was. haha, be on guard the Suzy! and thank you :). yup she’s both excited and stressed, ha. don’t curse us by assuming it will be great weather! ha.

      • OK, I’ll take my assumptions about your weather back – just to be on the safe side!! (I ‘hope’ it’s a lovely day!) A curse can’t possibly exist now! 😉

      • robertmudge says:

        haha, wise choice otherwise i would have come after you if the weather had been poor >:-|

      • Really!? That pond is very wide you know! 😉

      • robertmudge says:

        Modern transportation makes it much shorter 😀

  7. arjun bagga says:

    Awesome. Very innovative and eye-catching, if one is lucky that is!!

  8. I didn’t know Walter White could look creepier…but now he’s on a leg. Genious! 🙂

  9. ampbreia says:

    Wow! These are great!

Would Love To Hear What You Think

