What’s Stopping You Today??…Bethany Hamilton Sighting

Posted: August 5, 2013 in Random Gems
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This past Saturday me and my dad went to the Oceanside Pier in California to eat at a restaurant called Ruby’s that sits at the end of the pier. Upon arriving we found it extra difficult to find a parking spot and had no idea why. Once we found a spot and reached the pier I learned that it the Ford Supergirl Pro surf contest was going on and that was the reason for the increase of people. So we watched a little of the contest and then proceeded to the end of the pier to have a late lunch at Ruby’s, which was delicious.

As we made our way back up the pier I noticed it was a bit more crowded and figured it was because it was just later in the day. I managed to find an open spot to look out and watch the surfing. While watching I noticed one of the surfers didn’t have an arm, and then it clicked who I was getting to watch. It was Bethany Hamilton from the movie Soul Surfer. It was amazing to say the least to watch her. I used to to surf before my injury and let me tell you, it’s no easy task paddling out and this girl is doing it with one arm. She not only was able to surf, but she was awesome and powerful once she was up. I couldn’t help but get choked up knowing what she has fought through to be doing what she was doing.

Here are some pictures I got of her in the process of standing and paddling out:

20130804-235236.jpg

20130804-235252.jpg

Comments
  1. collynblake says:

    That is awesome! Much needs reminder that even though there are limitations, there is so much we can do! So cool that you were able to watch a legend and inspiration in person 🙂 so cool 🙂 and a good meal with your dad is just bonus 🙂

    • Rahburt says:

      yes, instead of focusing on the difficulties we should focus on the possibilities. it was indescribable seeing her do it. and yes the food was delicious too, ha. hope you are well!

  2. Wow – surfing with one arm, that’s really stunning! 🙂 She must have some incredible ability to balance and some ultra strong muscles in that body of hers!! Is that an S for superwoman on the back of her shirt? I think she really must be! 😀

    So you used to surf!? Was that in California too? The thought of balancing on a thin board in a huge ocean make me feel very shaky! 😯 You might guess now that I’m not a sporty person!! I like to watch though – taking pictures is appealing!

    I have a California in the area where I live too! I’m not kidding – there is a California in Norfolk in the UK! I’ve only ever driven through it once, can’t believe that I have never been to that beach yet! I’ve been trying to find a good link to show you, but all the info I’ve found seems a little confusing as to what beach they are talking about! If I find a good one I’ll let you know – but perhaps I should just get myself down there and take my own picture!!

    Next time I’m having a bad day, and feel like complaining when I’m not feeling so great, I shall remember this supergirl Robert! 😀

    • Rahburt says:

      isn’t it though!? i thought the same thing about her especially after she got up and was able to rip it up the way she did. plus being able to paddle with one arm and not go in a circle! ha, it should be for superwoman, but it was actually for supergirl because the competition was called the supergirl pro.

      yes, i surfed before i got and i’ve also surfed since i got hurt :). i actually didn’t surf out here in california until after i was hurt. i’m from florida, but i’m out here right now for some great exercise based therapy. ha, yes the ocean is definitely a force to reckoned with. ha, what!? you not sporty?? 😉

      that’s cool. thanks more teaching me that interesting little fact. ha, yes go!!! do you visit other beaches there? what’s the water temp like?

      that sounds like a great policy 😀

      • You must have some awesome beaches in Florida, I guess living in an area like that it is likely to make you want to surf!! 😀

        So you’ve been in California for exercise therapy! Has it been a good experience? I’ve watched your You Tube videos Robert, about your accident and all the exercises you go through, you are so amazing! And so determined to walk again, I think with a determination like that you really will! 😀 And I see you’ve been on TV, that was very interesting, especially the bit about the ones now able to walk on that red carpet, that was so great to see that, I didn’t know so many could recover to that extent! But I’m wondering now – with the surfing – how do you stay on that board!?

        No I’m not a sporty girl! The nearest I got to sporty was ballet at age 11 – yeah, I know it’s not sport, but it’s not all pretty, very hard work in fact! And I had a few months playing tennis when I first moved to Norwich in Norfolk in the 90’s, I actually loved that, I could have really got into that game – but over the months I got pains in my knees that progressed to such a point I couldn’t walk without severe pain. I had to except it just didn’t suit my body, all that running and stopping to hit the ball, was doing too much damage. I’ve heard professional tennis players can get that problem too. 😦

        The water temperature? Well, I couldn’t tell you exactly but, even on a hot day flipping freezing!!! 😀 The sea on the Norfolk coast is part of the north sea – the coldest water!! Probably the best place to be very recently though, because we’ve had some really hot weather, I’m not a fan of very stagnant hot weather – I like a breeze through my hair! 🙂 Here’s a link to a video of my favourite beach called Holkham Beach in Norfolk, a place that horses and their riders just love! A lot of our beaches in the UK are quaint and not really pretty, but Holkham is so beautiful with soft golden sand – and so WIDE!!!

        Sorry this comment is so long! I thought – I’ll make it short, but I never do! 😀

      • Rahburt says:

        yup the beaches are pretty awesome. in fact you can actually drive on a few miles of the beach also :). it was a great experience out there like it always is. i’ve gone out there since 2006 once a year for about a month at a time. it is the reason my recovery took off the way it did. that’s awesome knowing you took the time to look at my videos :D. even if i don’t walk again i just want to stay as healthy as i possibly can as well as become physically independent as possible. the recovery depends largely on the degree of the initial injury and how badly damaged the spinal cord is. ha, well i stay on the board by laying on it but when i fall off i just wait for someone to come help me :).

        ha, i know ballet is definitely a demanding and difficult thing to do. that’s a shame about tennis wearing on you the way it did :(. cold water even when it’s hot!?! how horrible. come on, get with it water! although maybe the cold water would be pleasant escape on a super hot day. and i hear you i’m a fan of a good breeze also :). that is a beautiful beach and quite the suitable song to accompany it. do you ride? ha, no worries. i don’t mind the long response, but just know i’m a slow poke responder 😉

      • A slow poke responder! Well, better late than never! 🙂 If you fall off, you just wait for someone to help you!!!? 😯 I hope you have some good surfing friends around you when you do that! 😉

        I think you are certainly doing well in the area of fitness, and you’ve come a long way from where you were, that’s really excellent! 🙂 I agree with you about keeping fit, I saw my mother suffer with rheumatoid arthritis, for many years she managed to stay free from wheelchairs, but by her late 50’s she couldn’t do that and had to completely rely on a wheelchair. Rheumatoid arthritis doesn’t allow the person suffering to really exercise properly as it effects the muscles very badly as well as the bones, a vicious circle really, because the lack of movement caused her even more problems. So yes, as long as you are able to, keep your fitness going – and your surfing!! 😀

        No, I don’t ride horses (I’m not sporty – remember!!) but – I did once ride a very large white horse when I was a child. It was a horse that belonged to some people my parents worked for. One of the job’s my dad did for them was to bring their horse back from the field to the stables. He let me and my brother ride the horse on one of those journeys. It was so huge, and I was so skinny and little, it felt like I was riding a giant dragon!! I should write something about that time soon, it was quite an experience! 😀

      • Rahburt says:

        haha, they don’t want murder charges on their hands so they come to my aid briskly :).
        thanks a lot. i just forward to the day when i can do the exercising on my own and not depend on others to help me do them. wow,it really sounds like she fought it as well as she could though.
        ha, riding horses is cionsidered sporty too?! ahhh! 😉 that’s awesome that you remember that occasion! I’ve never ridden a horse either but would like to one day.

  3. 메간 says:

    I’ve always been amazed by her story. I haven’t seen the film, but perhaps I should not 🙂 Thanks for sharing this!

    • Rahburt says:

      yeah, i saw the movie but actually seeing her and her thriving at what most people struggle to do with 2 arms was beyond amazing. thanks for choosing to visit! 🙂 always appreciate it.

  4. inthedrop says:

    Really cool thing to stumble upon when going out to lunch, I’m jelly haha

Would Love To Hear What You Think

