Food For Thought From Jim Carrey

Posted: July 10, 2013 in Relationships & Life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jim Carrey

 

The other day I was thinking to myself I wonder if some of these celebrities that many of us assume are so happy and have so much are truly fulfilled. Plus many of them weren’t born into wealth or fame, so this gives them a priceless perception concerning the subject. Then a few days later I just so happened to stumble upon this quote by total coincidence. Upon reading it my mind instantly began processing the possible beautiful and conflicting truth in it. He adds so much credibility to it because I had read where Jim Carrey was struggling or breaking even like many of us are, earlier in his own life. So this bit of information gave his quote even more legitimacy in my opinion.

I later came across numerous comments discussing these quoted words that examined from many points of view. Here are some of the ones I found most interesting:

  • Jim Carrey grew up dirt poor. he lived in a van with his family. i think he would know if having money really is the answer
  • Honestly, I’d rather have money and not knowing the answer than being broke and not knowing the answer.
  • Sorry, but I’m struggling to get myself fed every day, so don’t mind me, I’m just going to stand in the corner and envy you, Jim.
  • They say that money cannot buy one happiness, but nothing can cause depression and suicide like poverty.
  • Cool. But money could buy me endless travel, which I believe would be more fulfilling than endless desk time.
  • Still would rather have the problems that come with having money than the problems that come with not having money.
  • True happiness does come from within. *nod*
  • It’s funny how Jim Carrey only mentioned having an excess of what is needed to live yet everyone gets all anal pained over how poverty is hell. The quote doesn’t even say that money doesn’t buy happiness, it specifically mentions only being rich and famous.
  • Advertisements
Comments
  1. I don’t think money will make an unhappy person happy, but I guess it would take away the anxiety of struggling to cover all your needs, which many live with. But having said that, I’ve often thought if you have a lot of money in the bank, you would probably have some anxiety attached to the fact that the bank might just decide to swallow it up in one of their bad financial moves – a nice gain more money trick they pull every so often! πŸ˜‰ It must be a worry, especially if someone has worked really hard for all their millions. I think that’s a subject a lot of people don’t even give much thought to, and also what to do with it all when they are no longer here. Something you don’t need to think much about if you have nothing!

    I certainly don’t envy their fame. Although most of us as children may have had fantasies about being famous, I’m not sure as adults we’d really want it. It must go with a lot of stress, and all those silly questions they get asked by journalists – oh no, I think I’d be tempted to just ignore some of their unintelligent questions, but then I’d probably get branded a miserable bitch! Celebrities seem to be the victims of the modern day ‘stocks’ the ones to throw rotten tomatoes at, regardless of whether they deserve it or not – very weird really. That’s why I tend not to read newspapers and magazines much, full of endless rubbish. It’s no wonder that people in the public eye often have nervous breakdowns! It doesn’t matter if you are poor or rich – life is stressful, and we can’t ever truly remove that. Would be nice if we could! πŸ™‚

    • Rahburt says:

      I like your opening statement. There’s a lot of truth there. I think no matter how much or many material things we have they can never love us back and it my opinion that’s where joy lies, love and loving others. And you’re right I don’t think we can ever truly escape anxiety with money. We always want more of something, and sometimes that something we want can’t be bought.

      I’d like to have money so I can recurve the therapy I need to recover the best I possibly can from my spinal cord injury. I’d also love the ability to travel and also donate and give to those who need it.

      Yes, fame can act as a prison. You can go out or do anything without the fear of having it documented and blasted in the media. Ha, yup! Your they would jump at the opportunity to ridicule for your unwillingness to answer their questions. We do of course want the good without the bad. We’d like fame but not the baggage that comes with it. And I’m right there with you, not much news watching in my life either. It becomes gossip multiplied times 10.

  2. Wonderful post. It is so much easier to believe that it is so, when it comes from people who actually have gone from rags to riches!

  3. This is Deja vu’ indeed! My last post in fact is titled “The MasK” after that wonderful Jim Carrey starrer of yesteryears.

    The question that you bring up is a great one. Is fulfillment based on wealth and fame? How does this work for you?

    Shakti

    • Rahburt says:

      Awesome, I’ll have to stop by and check it out! I loved that movie “The Mask” too.

      I think a lot of times we look for fulfillment in the wrong places and only time and wisdom can truly show us where are own true happiness lies. Everyone’s happiness lies in different places. There is no right or wrong. I believe it’s very subjective. How about you?

  4. shianwrites says:

    Very true…

  5. I like what you say here … a lot. There’s a great song from the song “Money,” by the Flying Lizards: “Money can’t buy everything it’s true, but what it can’t buy I can’t use.” This is a great post.

    • robertmudge says:

      Awesome! So glad to here that you see eye to eye on this one. And that’s a great lyric, thanks for sharing. Also thanks so much for your visits and comments :). I just stumbled upon your comment here because I was making some changes. Glad I didn’t miss it.

Would Love To Hear What You Think

