I try to step back and remember the days when our communication was predominantly done by phone (talking) or face to face. Compared to texting, liking, tweeting and browsing. But I haven’t quite determined if how we communicate today is all that bad. Because of these mediums I have come to chat and know a number of you, and without the internet it would not be possible. I’m thinking that it’s all about balance. Although, I do believe it would be healthier if your face to face communication outweighed your internet communication.

There is almost no other way I could get updates on dozens of my friends in a matter of minutes like I can on Facebook. It’s like a daily newspaper that includes stories, obituaries, photos, events and comics all created by my friends and family. Or take the blog feed here where I get to be a part of each one of your shares.

Since, my injury and having my driving privileges taken away I have had to lean on the internet to feed my desire of communication more times than not. I know it’s the best thing, but sometimes it’s the only thing.

So, yes I’m Guilty of clicking, liking, and internet relationships, but is it really all that bad? Are we creating a touch-less emotionally sparse means of communication? Or are we reaching people and their minds and hearts that otherwise would not be possible? I know I’m enriched by a lot of what you all post, share and write.

thumbnail2

Comments
  1. Wait… what injury are you talking about?

    I believe technology helps in a way – for those hermits like myself, I enjoy the communication through emails, texts, WordPress, etc. It helps to spread ideas, inspiration. In terms of relationships, I wouldn’t have met my last two boyfriends without them so I guess I am biased. In terms of friendships, I would say the same.

    p.s. the next time you find yourself in California, let’s grab a cup of coffee and chat 🙂

    • Rahburt says:

      Check out my “about me” page 🙂

      I’m right there with you concerning the relationships realm. Not having a driver’s license has proven to complicate my ability to meet new people and/or girls. I’m quite the socialite, so it’s super frustrating not being able to get out there like I want. SO that’s where Mr. or Miss Internet comes to fill the void 🙂

      p.s. l’m a fan out that idea. I should be there around Summer >_<. not sure what that face is but I've seen you use it, ha.

  2. LilMissSyn says:

    I think it’s all about balance, I have a healthy amount of both “types of friends” and I love them all the same, regardless if we will never meet face to face I adore and cherish them just as much and my “in person” relationships.
    I’m grateful for the internet, but i do believe it’s easy to “get lost” in it.. so balance is important. It still amazes me that I can pay a bill at a stop light on my way home! LOL.. it’s crazy when you think about it!

    • Rahburt says:

      I’m a Libra, so I agree about the balance :). And yes, I feel the same about loving my online and offline friends close to equally. I generally have REAL conversations with people like yourself on here versus my unplugged friends. They sometimes can’t understand and make sly little jokes about my internet world, ha…whatever.
      Ha, exactly. The internet is amazing when used properly. It provides us with countless tools for learning, sharing and productivity, and unproductive too, ha. Although my internet time seems to be winning at the moment I’m sure that will change, as does life 😉

  3. Jae says:

    I think you touched on the point that makes all the difference: balance. There’s no way I could get to know as many bloggers and writers as I have done online in real life. And I’ve gained so much insight and advice from my online community. However, as you said, it’s no excuse to abandon my IRL community. Just as you were saying, balance.

    • Rahburt says:

      🙂 Glad you agree. I try to be balanced in just about every aspect of my life other than kindness, that one I put no limits ;). But yes, I can see how the internet can be super useful for a writer like yourself. It allows us to network with 100s to 1000s if we so choose. I’m actually using it to make a living myself and trying to avoid the 9-5. I need my time for my physical recovery. I had to google IRL, ha. Good luck with your writing! 🙂

  4. Chatty Owl says:

    Very often I have mixed feelings about this. Sometimes I think this is brilliant that we have all these opportunities to connect with people, explore so many great gems of the land of internet, but then sometimes I feel like the personal touch is definitely getting lost in this virtual medium. So in my life i try to maintain the balance. I click away, but from time to time I write a hand written letter with a wax seal on the envelope…
    Lets be guilty together haha!

    • Rahburt says:

      I’m right there with you. At certain points I find myself satisfied with internet relationships almost to the point where it out weighs my real life connections. And then I ask myself what if the internet was unavailable, what would I do then and what would I have? I think sometimes there is a super deep connection with someone that is totally based off communication and not watered down with physicality. I believe communication is a much stronger foundation for a lasting relationship. Haha, I like it…let’s be guilty! 🙂

  5. shianwrites says:

    Awesome post! There are pros and cons. We just need to know when to step back and connect (touch) with the people we love and care for.

    • Rahburt says:

      Thank you, that’s always nice to hear :). And yes I hear you, although sometimes there are times when I’d like to step out and connect with people like you in the physical world. We need to have a convention or something, ha.

Would Love To Hear What You Think

